“Hartack was his own man, satisfied only as a winner and finding it unacceptable to be just in the money. He was a top winner throughout his career. Bill was the best to himself and to millions of race goers and he was #1 to me as well."

– LeRoy Neiman, Artist (1921-2012)

The Neiman Award Recipients

In honor of LeRoy Neiman’s passionate support of Bill Hartack’s legacy, the Hartack Foundation has created the Neiman Award, recognizing the Kentucky Derby winning owner's and/or trainer's commitment and contributions to the racing industry.

Art Sherman

Art Sherman, 2015

At the age of 77 Art Sherman became the oldest trainer to win the Kentucky Derby. He began his career as a stable hand. He was the exercise rider for the 1955 Kentucky Derby winner Swaps and 1956 Kentucky Derby entrant Terrang. In 1957, Sherman became a licensed jockey. He began training horses in 1979. Prior to becoming the trainer of California Chrome, Sherman had trained ten graded stakes winners and is credited with over 2,100 wins. He was hired to train California Chrome in 2013. Leading up to the 2014 Kentucky Derby, Sherman had conditioned the horse through four consecutive wins, and California Chrome entered the Derby as the favorite and won. Two weeks later, California Chrome also won the 2014 Preakness Stakes. 

J. Paul Reddam

J. Paul Reddam, 2012

The 2012 recipient of the Neiman Award is J. Paul Reddam, owner of thoroughbred champion I’ll Have Another, winner of the 2012 Kentucky Derby and 2012 Preakness Stakes.

©2015 The Bill Hartack Charitable Foundation. (504) 915-0231